B.C.'s Highest Honour Recognizes 16 Outstanding Citizens in Order of British Columbia

Jul 26, 2016

Sixteen exceptional civic leaders will be appointed to the Order of British Columbia, the Province’s highest form of recognition, Lieutenant-Governor Judith Guichon, Chancellor of the Order, announced today.

“For 27 years, the Order of British Columbia has recognized exceptional individuals whose hard work, generosity of spirit and outstanding achievements have contributed immeasurably to the wellbeing of our communities,” Lt. Gov. Guichon said. “I extend my congratulations to this year’s recipients and thank them for inspiring all of us with their efforts to build a healthy, diverse and inclusive province for generations to come.”

“British Columbia’s greatest strength is British Columbians – people who use their talents and passions to make a difference both here at home and, in many cases, around the world,” Premier Christy Clark said. “On behalf of all British Columbians, I want to thank this year’s recipients for their dedication, and everything they do to make B.C. a wonderful place to live, work and raise a family.”

This year’s recipients are:

Janet Austin of Vancouver: Business and non-profit leader who, as CEO of the YWCA Vancouver, has championed new social services and programs.

Kim Baird, CM of Tsawwassen: Leader who negotiated and implemented the first modern treaty in the BC Treaty Negotiation Process.

Beverley Boys, CM of Surrey: Acclaimed international diving judge and diving coach.

Dr. Allen Eaves of Vancouver: Leading leukemia specialist and founder owner of the largest biotechnology company in Canada.

Frank Giustra of Vancouver: Influential Canadian entrepreneur and global philanthropist.

John Mann of Vancouver: Founding member of one of British Columbia’s iconic musical groups, Spirit of the West.

Saleema Noon of Vancouver: Leading sexual health educator in the province and advocate for wellness education.

Cornelia Hahn Oberlander, OC of Vancouver: Landscape architect who has pioneered many globally-recognized approaches to outdoor environments.

J. Pauline Rafferty of Victoria: A leading Canadian executive in the cultural sector who transformed the Royal BC Museum into a premier museum.

Sandra Richardson of Victoria: CEO of the Victoria Foundation who spearheads a number of successful programs responding to community needs.

Robert Robinson of Vancouver: Celebrity broadcaster who has used his recognition to fundraise and promote many causes.

David Sidoo of Vancouver: Sporting legend, successful investment banker and leading philanthropist.

Brian R.D. Smith, QC of Victoria: Long-serving elected official who led social innovations in the arena of sports, education, law and business.

Marjorie White of New Westminster: Founder of the first Aboriginal service agencies in Canada, which evolved into a national Friendship Centres movement.

Dr. Peter K. K. Wong of Vancouver: Community leader, businessman, philanthropist and physician, who serves patients in Vancouver’s east side neighbourhood.

Dr. Eric M. Yoshida of Vancouver: Leading clinical and research expert in liver disease.

Over the years, government has worked to increase awareness of the Province s highest honour to ensure that outstanding men and women from all eligible categories and from all parts of the province have an opportunity to be honoured. The Province has received more than 5,250 public nominations for the Order of British Columbia in 27 years.

This year, 215 British Columbians were nominated for the Order of British Columbia. More than half the nominations came from the Lower Mainland with the remaining coming from other regions throughout the Province.

Since its inception, 402 British Columbians have been appointed to the OBC. Members have been appointed from all regions of the province and in numbers generally proportionate to a region s population. For example, 63% of the appointees have come from the Lower Mainland/Southwest region, which has 61% of the population. Similarly, the North has 4% of the population and 4% of the appointees are from that region.

Recipients of the Order of British Columbia are selected by an independent advisory committee. The 2016 advisory committee consists of: The Honourable Robert J. Bauman (chair), chief justice of British Columbia; The Honourable Linda Reid, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly; Mark Evered, president and vice-chancellor, Fraser Valley University; Neil Sweeney, deputy minister, Corporate Policy and Intergovernmental Relations Secretariat; Al Richmond, president, Union of British Columbia Municipalities; Wendy Lisogar-Cocchia, O.B.C., and Lorne Segal, O.B.C. (previous recipients of the Order).

The Order of British Columbia investiture ceremony will be held for recipients and invited guests at Government House in Victoria on July 26, 2016.

As well as the Order of B.C., people may nominate individuals for the Province’s newest honour, the Medal of Good Citizenship. The medal recognizes citizens for their exceptional long-term service, and contributions to their communities without expectation of remuneration or reward. The medal reflects their generosity, service, acts of selflessness and contributions to community life. Nominations are accepted year round.

Learn More:

The Order of B.C. is online at: http://www.orderofbc.gov.bc.ca
Medal of Good Citizenship online at: www.gov.bc.ca/medalofgoodcitizenship